Daily Archives: April 28, 2009

Slacker…

Ok…so I’m a week late at starting this thing. Give me a break, it’s not the easiest thing in the world for a bartender to cozy up to the wood of a desk for 8 hours a day…5 days a week. And not to mention that I have to use my brain for something other than making change for a 50 spot.

Anywho, enough about my past life…I’m here to wax about the amazing experience I am having at The Culinary Institute of America @ Greystone. I’d be lying if I said it wasn’t completely overwhelming at first…rooting up from my cozy house and my husband…but it’s the best decision I’ve made in a long, long time (aside from aforementioned husband).

It’s definitely a more free-form experience than I anticipated, but the only thing I have to compare it to is my undergrad (MSU…Go Spartans!) which was a Japanese elementary school comparably speaking.

I won’t bore you with the details of blind smell testing savory additions in my Gastro class (even though it was thrilling for me) but I do hope to have many entertaining tales free from injury in my 2 years here at Greystone pursuing my dream to be a food writer. Here’s to extremely expensive career changes!!! Ching, Ching!!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized